Crime Scene

So, a couple years ago I had an idea for a great story. Historical fiction. It was unique as far as characterization goes. My MC was an original, a culmination of so many people from my youth. The other characters, the protagonist, all of them came to life because of people I knew and it was frikkin’ magical.

Then, as I start to write, something in my brain drops. Like a washer slipped off somewhere and metal started grinding into metal. Next thing you know, there was smoke and sparks and something smelled bad. Really bad. I had intended my MC to speak the way I knew they would. Bad grammar, profanity…the whole nine yards. So, as I’m writing, I start writing his lines in the first person and still telling the story around him in third. I can live with that.

cuban-woman_997927i

That was when my muse, Marisol Adoncia Bassave-Espellosa, stepped out for a smoke. She left me to my own devices. When she came back in, the damage had been done. Somewhere along the line, I thought “Why not have the protagonist speak his lines in first person too?” A dual first person story with a third person perspective! Oh hell, for sure this will get me the number 1 slot on the NY Times best seller list.

Of course, Marisol saw it and simply said “start over.”
“No way” I answered, “this is ingenious!”
“Ju mean inflammable” she shot back.
“You’re jealous because I thought of it without you!”
“Puta! Call me when ju cam to jour senses!”

And just like that she was gone. Didn’t matter, I had the touch. Made perfect sense to me, I knew which character was which and I was quite certain that any reader with half a brain would see it as well. Apparently I was wrong. I got reviews saying “His writing style is too weird” and “I don’t get it” and “Maybe if I had some of the drugs he was using, I would know WTF this all means!”

So Crime Scene has been on a bench in self published land for a couple of years now. Nobody looks at it. Then, the other day I see that someone has added it to their list of books to read. Jesus H. Christ, the nightmare is about to start again. But then it happened. Marisol Adoncia Bassave-Espellosa said “are ju ready to stops thees sheets and work right?”

cuban-women-in-uniform-1962

She spoke so softly to me about redoing Crime Scene. She just wants me to succeed. She even offered to “cut off my cojones” so I wouldn’t make the same mistakes again. She wants to take away the distractions…at least that’s what she said cojones means. She should know, she’s Cuban.

So Crime Scene is getting a rewrite. A new look and feel. I still want the MC to speak directly to the readers, but the rest of the story will be third person. I think I have the perfect way to do it too. Well, Marisol does…

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Stuff, Life Looks

Leave a Reply

